Spicy Peanut Noodles with Tempeh

Spicy Peanut Noodles with Tempeh

 

Most of the meals I make are, or were at a time, based on a recipe I read someplace else. I adapt, based on what I have on hand or what I feel like at the time. I bought the ingredients for the Spicy Noodle Salad from Vegan Cooking for Carnivores, truly intending to make the recipe as written. Instead, I roughly followed the sauce recipe and the basic ingredients. The only thing that really makes this dish stand out over my usual soba or brown rice stir fry dinners is the inclusion of balsamic vinegar, which I would have never thought to try before reading the recipe. The rich and somewhat sweet flavor was a nice surprise and change of taste from the perhaps more traditional rice wine vinegar.

Tempeh and peppers

  • Bring a large pot of water to a boil.
  • In a small bowl, whisk together 3 tbsp peanut butter, grated zest and juice of 2 limes, 1 tbsp sesame oil, 2 tbsp agave nectar, 1/3 cup soy sauce, ¼ cup balsamic vinegar, dash of hot sauce.
  • Marinate tempeh in the sauce.
  • Saute bell peppers and tempeh until lightly browned.
  • Cook soba noodles according to package. Drain.
  • Plate noodles with tempeh and peppers.
  • Add bean sprouts and sliced scallions, and serve.
Spicy Peanut Noodles with Tempeh
Leave a Reply

