Cook The Book: Coconut Tofu and Sour Beans with Cauliflower Grains

I’m really, really good at saving recipes. I copy and paste items from menus that look interesting. I save links from websites. I bookmark and make lists of recipes in cookbooks. I feel like I am overflowing with ideas of what to cook.

I’m not so good at sticking to a plan of what to cook when. After a week of not being home at dinner time, or eating something simple and quick to get to various school functions, I’m ready to spend some quality time with my knives and pans. I put the responsibility on a dear friend to choose if I should cook from a link, a restaurant menu, or a cookbook, and she picked book. Which works out great, because almost all my library cookbook holds came in at the same time and I have a huge stack to get through.

I settled on a recipe for Coconut Tofu, Sour Beans from Vegetarian Dinner Parties: 150 Meatless Meals Good Enough To Serve To Company by Bruce Weinstein and Mark Scarbrough. The tofu is poached in coconut milk and served atop hot and sour long beans. Every recipe comes with a sidebar of suggested menus, and I decided on their idea of a small plate of Cauliflower Grains, Cucumber, Parsley which is a lovely raw and zesty side dish for the sour and earthy tofu and bean dish.

P1060926

P1060959

These are super satisfying on their own and work really well together. Also, they didn’t elicit a negative response from the kids, which sometimes is all I need for a successful dinner. This book is filled with intriguing flavor combinations and creative pairings and I look forward to cooking more from it, be it a dinner party or a regular night with my favorite three people. And hey, if the dear friend I referenced above wants to fly across country, well that would just be great and I’ll totally feed her all the yummy food.

Leave a Reply

